Two-Fisted Toy Talk!

These Toys Aren't Going to Photograph Themselves…

Wakey Wakey

There’s a toy enthusiast I admire, goes by the internet handle of Alexx. You might expect that his real name is Alex. But then, you might expect that grown men don’t collect children’s toys.

The most recent post on Alexx’s charming Toys and Tomfoolery weblog acknowledges, with a title that is typical of Alexx’s unassuming, self-deprecating sense of humor, the twenty-three days that had passed between posts:

*SNRGK* What? I’m Awake, I’m Awake!

Meanwhile, this post marks the end of a staggering ninety-day lull between posts here at Two-Fisted Toy Talk!

…2012 was a strange year for me.

However, much as I enjoy weaving earnest, distracting strands of autobiography into my long-winded toy commentary (see “Gandalf the Whiteley” and my favorite Two-Fisted Toy Talk! essay, “My Dad Can Beat Up Your Dad”), G.I. Joes and Ninja Turtles simply don’t lend themselves to personal narratives involving unemployment, moving halfway around the world, couch-crashing at the home of long-suffering friends, and finding unlikely redemption in the form of graveyard shift work at a yogurt factory in Idaho. As such, I propose that we pretend I never stopped updating this noble weblog… except that I will now share some of the many photos I neglected to post during the past few months.

 

First, some Monster High portraits!

 

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

 

The wee girls are very photogenic, but my interest in them was short-lived. Between being unemployed when I developed an interest in them and the fact that they are not particularly pose-able and cannot hold anything in their hands, I am ready to move on. I have a Venus McFlytrap doll I hope to photograph when the snow thaws, and I will continue to photograph any new dolls my daughter acquires (the De Nile sisters pictured above are hers), but I do not intend to seek any more Monster High dolls for myself, and I will probably give my Robecca Steam and Venus dolls to my daughter eventually.

Next up: Hellboy!

 

Photobucket

Photobucket

 

The hand is a novelty item from London Dungeon, which also had for sale a Hellboy skull that I desperately wanted but could not afford.

 

New edits!

 

Photobucket

Photobucket

 

Adora, from the Masters of the Universe Classics series:

Photobucket

 

Scarabus, from the Four Horsemen:

Photobucket

 

G.I. Joes!

 

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

 

And coming soon… new Sigma 6 photos! Hopefully posted sooner than three months from now!

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.