Two-Fisted Toy Talk!

These Toys Aren't Going to Photograph Themselves…

Window Shopping: Monster High

So that historians are spared the burden of endless debate in the many volumes I expect to be penned in my honor, I present to you the Monster High dolls I am most eager to acquire.

 

Three-Eyed Ghoul (Create-a-Monster):

Look At Me Now(Photo Appears Courtesy of nevraforever at Flickr)

 

Bee Girl (Create-a-Monster):

Imma Bee(Photo Appears Courtesy of nevraforever at Flickr)

 

(I am almost certain that all the remaining photos are promotional images. If I am mistaken and a photographer credit is due, let me know).

 

Perhaps the biggest revelation is Lagoona Blue; she is not the character I find most compelling, but I am interested in half a dozen of her variants. That’s twice the number of any other character.

 

Lagoona Blue (Classroom):

Photobucket

 

Lagoona Blue (Dead Tired):
Photobucket

 

If nothing else, you gotta love her Abe Sapien-like sleeping quarters.

 

Lagoona Blue (Skull Shores):
Photobucket

 

Lagoona Blue (Wave 1):
Photobucket

 

Lagoona Blue (School’s Out):
Photobucket

Of the five Lagoona dolls pictured, the Wave 1 version is probably my favorite, which is a pity because the older dolls tend to be the most expensive.

 

C.A. Cupid (Wal-Mart Exclusive):

Photobucket

 

At first I hated Cupid’s lipstick, but then it somehow reminded me of Quimper from Grant Morrison’s The Invisibles:

 

Photobucket

 

Catarine Demew:
Photobucket

 

Cleo De Nile (Ghouls Rule):
Photobucket

 

Draculaura (Wave 1):
Photobucket

 

I find Draculaura to be among the least interesting characters in the Monster High series, but this, the original Draculaura doll, is pretty nifty.

 

Frankie Stein (Classroom):
Photobucket

 

Frankie Stein (Skull Shores):
Photobucket
Frankie Stein (School’s Out):
Photobucket

 

 

And now for my favorite character (and here I should note that all my talk of favorite and least favorite characters stems from nothing more than a given doll’s design; I have no intention of exploring any Monster High media):

 

Ghoulia Yelps (Classroom):
Photobucket

 

Ghoulia Yelps (San Diego Comic-Con Exclusive):
Photobucket

 

Ghoulia Yelps (Wave 1):

 

Photobucket

For what it’s worth, if I could only have one Monster High doll, it would probably be the Wave 1 version of Ghoulia Yelps.

 

Gil (Skull Shores):
Photobucket

 

Speaking of Abe Sapien!

 

Holt Hyde:
Photobucket

 

Nefera DeNile:
Photobucket

 

Operetta (Dot Dead Gorgeous):
Photobucket

 

Operetta (Campus Stroll):
Photobucket

 

Robecca Steam:

 

Photobucket

 

Robecca is right up there with Ghoulia Yelps. So cool!

 

Rochelle Goyle:
Photobucket

 

Scarah Screams (San Diego Comic-Con Exclusive):
Photobucket

 

I am resigned to the fact that there is no way in hell I will ever own any convention-exclusive toy.

 

Spectra (Dot Dead Gorgeous):
Photobucket

 

 

Spectra (School’s Out):
Photobucket

 

Toralei Stripe:
Photobucket

 

Venus McFlytrap:

 

Photobucket

 

 

Yeesh. I gotta win the lottery or something.

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.